Bedminster Down School

Governors Membership


Name Governor Type Category Term of office from Term of office to Attendance over Last Academic Year 15/16 Business Interest 2016/17
Simon Dowland Co-opted Appointed 08/07/2015 07/07/2019 5/6 None
Paul Jeffery Co-opted Appointed 14/12/2015 13/12/2019 3/5 Cheddar Grove Primary School - Education
Stephen Weeks Co-opted Appointed 30/10/2015 29/10/2015 6/6 Consultant - Energy Supply   since  01/05/15
Helen Styles Co-opted Appointed 11/09/2016 10/09/2020 4/6 None

Trina Shane

Katie Maule
Andrea Pearson
Fiona England Staff
Jon Parsons Staff
Matthew Woodville Headteacher Virtue of Office  N/A  N/A 6/6 None
Sue Walker Clerk Appointed  N/A  N/A  N/A None


During the Academic Year  2016/17  no Governors have stepped down from the Governing Body.

There are six Full Governing Board/Finance Staffing and Audit/Pupil Learning meetings per Academic Year.


Attendance: Whilst Governors make every effort to attend meetings throughout the year, from time to time, apologies for non-attendance at meetings are received and are generally due to unforeseen circumstances, such as sickness or family/work commitments. Apologies are always accepted by the Governing Board/Committee. To ensure all  Governors are kept up to date, regular communication and collaboration is made through the circulation of minutes, emails and, where necessary, verbal updates from colleagues.


There are two sub committees of the governing board- Finance, Staffing & Audit (FS) and Pupil Learning (PL). The members of these committees are as follows.


Finance, Staffing & Audit

Jayne Donovan (Chair)

Peter Ralls

Gary Schlick

Graham Knight


Pupil Learning

Alison Braybrooke

Simon Dowland

Paul Jeffery

Graham Knight

Gary Schlick

Helen Styles

Michelle Tett

Trina Shane

Stephen Weeks (Chair)


We also have governors with specific responsibility for different areas of the school. These are:

Pupil Premium - Simon Dowland

Teaching - Stephen Weeks

CP & SEN - Stephen Weeks / Trina Shane

Health & Safety - Helen Styles

LAC - Graham Knight

Leadership - Gary Schlick


Full Governing body meeting minutes are available on request.